MIAA Announces 2010-11 All-Conference Women's Basketball Team - KOAM TV 7

Courtesy: MIAA

MIAA Announces 2010-11 All-Conference Women's Basketball Team

Posted: Updated:
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Northwest Missouri guard Gabby Curtis was selected as MIAA Player of the Year, and NWMSU head coach Gene Steinmeyer was chosen as MIAA Coach of the Year to headline the 2010-11 all-conference women's basketball team released Tuesday by the league office. The selections were made by the league's 12 head coaches, and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Curtis was named player of the year after leading Northwest to its first MIAA Championship since 1983-84 and first-ever outright title. The senior from Ganado, Ariz., finished second in the MIAA in scoring with 18.2 points per game and ranked second in the conference in three-point field goal percentage at .394. Curtis was also one of two unanimous All-MIAA First Team selections along with Emporia State senior center Alli Volkens.

Steinmeyer earned his second coach of the year honor (2002-03) after leading Northwest to its first-ever outright MIAA regular season championship. He guided the Bearcats to a perfect 14-0 record at home and victories in 18 of their final 20 regular season games to claim the title.

Northwest Missouri senior post Kyla Roehrig was selected as the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year. The Papillion, Neb., native ranked second in the conference in blocked shots with 2.8 per game and was second in the league in defensive rebounds with 6.7 per contest. Roehrig was also named All-MIAA First Team after finishing second in the conference in field goal percentage at .514. She was named to the MIAA All-Defensive Team as well.

Emporia State forward Kelsey Balcom is the MIAA Freshman of the Year after 11.5 points per game and 6.8 rebounds per game for the Lady Hornets. The Olathe, Kan., product started 22 of 26 games for ESU this season.

Northwest Missouri and Pittsburg State led the league with four All-MIAA selections, followed by Central Missouri and Truman with three apiece, Emporia State, Fort Hays State, Missouri Southern, Missouri Western, Southwest Baptist and Washburn with two each and Lincoln and Nebraska-Omaha with one apiece.

The 2011 MIAA Basketball Championships begin Thursday at Municipal Auditorium in Downtown Kansas City, with the women taking the floor on Friday. Women's award winners and All-MIAA First Team selections will be recognized prior to the 6 p.m. game Friday evening.





  • Gabby Curtis, Sr., G, Northwest Missouri  



  • Kyla Roehrig, Sr., P, Northwest Missouri



  • Kelsey Balcom, F, Emporia State



  • Gene Steinmeyer, Northwest Missouri



  • Gabby Curtis, G, Sr., Northwest Missouri**
  • Alli Volkens, C, Sr., Emporia State**
  • Jasmine Lovejoy, G, Sr., Missouri Southern
  • Stevi Schultz, G, Jr., Washburn
  • Kyla Roehrig, P, Sr., Northwest Missouri


**Unanimous Selection



  • Cassie Lombardino, C, Jr., Washburn
  • Jessica Koch, F, Jr., Missouri Western
  • Abby Henry, G, Jr., Northwest Missouri
  • Kara Fleming, G, Sr., Central Missouri
  • Vivian Essuon, C, Jr., Lincoln



  • Gentry Dietz, F, Sr., Northwest Missouri
  • Kylee Baldetti, F, Sr., Pittsburg State
  • Rachel Luteyn, C, Sr., Missouri Western
  • Breanna Daniels, G, Jr., Truman
  • Erin Rice, F, So., Missouri Southern



  • Becca Roberts, C, Sr., Central Missouri
  • Nicole Caddell, F, Jr., Central Missouri
  • Kelsey Balcom, F, Fr., Emporia State
  • Crista Bechard, G, Jr., Fort Hays State
  • Traci Keyser, F, So., Fort Hays State
  • Heather Pohl, F, Jr., Nebraska-Omaha
  • Drew Roberts, G, So., Pittsburg State
  • Laura Glenn, F, Sr., Pittsburg State
  • Courtney Tate, G, Jr., Pittsburg State
  • Ashleigh Gallio, G, Sr., Southwest Baptist
  • LaKendra Smith, F, Jr., Southwest Baptist
  • Amy Galey, G, Sr., Truman
  • Jennifer Conway, F, So., Truman



  • Kyla Roehrig, P, Sr., Northwest Missouri
  • Alli Volkens, C, Sr., Emporia State
  • Courtney Tate, G, Jr., Pittsburg State
  • Kaniesha Pettaway, G, Sr., Fort Hays State
  • Jasmine Lovejoy, G, Sr., Missouri Southern
Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.