MIAA Announces 2010-11 All-Conference Men's Basketball Team - KOAM TV 7

Courtesy: MIAA

MIAA Announces 2010-11 All-Conference Men's Basketball Team

Posted: Updated:

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Missouri Southern guard Skyler Bowlin was chosen as MIAA Player of the Year and MSSU head coach Robert Corn was selected as MIAA Coach of the Year to headline the 2010-11 all-conference men's basketball team released Tuesday by the league office. The selections were made by the league's 12 head coaches, and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Bowlin was the unanimous selection for player of the year after leading Southern to its first MIAA Championship since 1999-2000. The senior from Paragould, Ark, was fourth in the MIAA in scoring with 18.1 points per game, second in the conference in assists with 5.8 per game, and led the league in assist-to-turnover ratio with 152 assists to just 71 turnovers (2.1 ratio). Bowlin was also the lone unanimous All-MIAA First Team pick and was named to the MIAA All-Defensive Team for the third consecutive season.

In addition to his player of the year, all-conference and all-defensive team honors, Bowlin was named MIAA Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Fort Hays State forward Dijon Smith, his second straight year to garner the award. Bowlin led the league with 2.4 steals per game and anchored a Southern defense that ranked fourth in the MIAA in scoring defense, allowing just 69.4 points per game.

Smith was named co-defensive player of the year after leading the conference in blocked shots with 1.6 per game and leading Fort Hays State's No. 3-ranked scoring defense in the league at just 69.3 points allowed per game. The senior from Omaha, Neb., was also an All-MIAA Second Team selection after ranking second in the conference in field goal percentage (.635) while averaging 14.4 points and 5.8 rebounds per game for FHSU. Smith was named to the MIAA All-Defensive Team as well.

Corn was voted unanimous coach of the year after guiding Southern to its second MIAA title (first since 1999-2000), both under his supervision. It is Corn's third coach of the year honor, as he also picked up the award in 1999-2000 and 2007-08.

Missouri Southern guard Marquis Addison is the MIAA Freshman of the Year after finishing second in the conference in steals with 2.0 per game and second in the league in free throw percentage at .854. The Olathe, Kan., product started all 26 games for Southern and averaged 9.2 points, 3.2 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game.

Fort Hays State led the league with four All-MIAA selections, followed by Emporia State and Missouri Southern with three apiece, Missouri Western, Nebraska-Omaha, Northwest Missouri, Pittsburg State, Truman and Washburn with two each and Central Missouri, Lincoln and Southwest Baptist with one each.

The 2011 MIAA Basketball Championships begin Thursday at Municipal Auditorium in Downtown Kansas City with the men's first round. Men's award winners and All-MIAA First Team selections will be recognized prior to the 6 p.m. game Thursday evening.






  • Gabby Curtis, Sr., G, Northwest Missouri  



  • Kyla Roehrig, Sr., P, Northwest Missouri



  • Kelsey Balcom, F, Emporia State



  • Gene Steinmeyer, Northwest Missouri



  • Gabby Curtis, G, Sr., Northwest Missouri**
  • Alli Volkens, C, Sr., Emporia State**
  • Jasmine Lovejoy, G, Sr., Missouri Southern
  • Stevi Schultz, G, Jr., Washburn
  • Kyla Roehrig, P, Sr., Northwest Missouri

 **Unanimous Selection



  • Cassie Lombardino, C, Jr., Washburn
  • Jessica Koch, F, Jr., Missouri Western
  • Abby Henry, G, Jr., Northwest Missouri
  • Kara Fleming, G, Sr., Central Missouri
  • Vivian Essuon, C, Jr., Lincoln



  • Gentry Dietz, F, Sr., Northwest Missouri
  • Kylee Baldetti, F, Sr., Pittsburg State
  • Rachel Luteyn, C, Sr., Missouri Western
  • Breanna Daniels, G, Jr., Truman
  • Erin Rice, F, So., Missouri Southern



  • Becca Roberts, C, Sr., Central Missouri
  • Nicole Caddell, F, Jr., Central Missouri
  • Kelsey Balcom, F, Fr., Emporia State
  • Crista Bechard, G, Jr., Fort Hays State
  • Traci Keyser, F, So., Fort Hays State
  • Heather Pohl, F, Jr., Nebraska-Omaha
  • Drew Roberts, G, So., Pittsburg State
  • Laura Glenn, F, Sr., Pittsburg State
  • Courtney Tate, G, Jr., Pittsburg State
  • Ashleigh Gallio, G, Sr., Southwest Baptist
  • LaKendra Smith, F, Jr., Southwest Baptist
  • Amy Galey, G, Sr., Truman
  • Jennifer Conway, F, So., Truman



  • Kyla Roehrig, P, Sr., Northwest Missouri
  • Alli Volkens, C, Sr., Emporia State
  • Courtney Tate, G, Jr., Pittsburg State
  • Kaniesha Pettaway, G, Sr., Fort Hays State
  • Jasmine Lovejoy, G, Sr., Missouri Southern
Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.