MIAA Announces 2011 All-Conference Softball Team - KOAM TV 7

Courtesy: MIAA

MIAA Announces 2011 All-Conference Softball Team


KANSAS CITY, Mo. – MIAA softball regular season co-champions Emporia State, Missouri Western and Nebraska-Omaha combined for eight All-MIAA First Team selections, and swept the five end-of-season awards to highlight the all-conference team announced Thursday by the league office. The selections were made by the league's 12 head coaches, and coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Emporia State second baseman Angela Mahan was named the MIAA Player of the Year after a season in which she held a .715 slugging percentage, recorded 17 doubles and scored 51 runs, all tops in the conference. The senior from Liberty, Mo., was also an All-MIAA First Team selection.

Nebraska Omaha senior Beth Haley is the MIAA Pitcher of the Year for the second consecutive season. The Highland, Ind., native led the MIAA with a 0.91 ERA and was third in the conference with 19 wins on the season. Haley was named All-MIAA First Team as well.

Nebraska Omaha catcher Lauren Larson was voted the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year after finishing the regular season tied for the MIAA lead with three runners picked off and second in the league with 331 putouts. The Omaha, Neb., native was also named All-MIAA Honorable Mention.

Missouri Western pitcher Jackie Bishop was honored as the MIAA Freshman of the Year after a season in which she ranked second in the MIAA with a 1.00 ERA, second in the conference in wins with 23 and second in the league in strikeouts with 193. The Kirksville, Mo., product was also an All-MIAA First Team selection.

Nebraska Omaha head coach Jeanne Scarpello and Missouri Western head coach Jen Bagley were voted MIAA Co-Coaches of the Year after guiding their squads to identical 18-4 records in MIAA play and a share of the regular season conference championship along with Emporia State. It is the third coach of the year honor for Bagley, and the second for Scarpello.

Emporia State led the way with four first-team selections, followed by Central Missouri, Missouri Western and Nebraska Omaha with two each, and Fort Hays State, Missouri Southern and Northwest Missouri with one apiece.



Angela Mahan, Sr., 2B, Emporia State



Beth Haley, Sr., Nebraska Omaha



Lauren Larson, Jr., C, Nebraska Omaha



Jackie Bishop, P, Missouri Western


Jeanne Scarpello, Nebraska Omaha

Jen Bagley, Missouri Western



P: Beth Haley, Sr., Nebraska Omaha [r1]

P: Jackie Bishop, Fr., Missouri Western

C: Malinee Powell, So., Fort Hays State

1B: Megan Roark, Sr., Missouri Southern

2B: Angela Mahan, Sr., Emporia State

SS: Abby Hughes, Sr., Emporia State

3B: Katie Groves, Jr., Central Missouri

OF: Kit Daugherty, Sr., Northwest Missouri

OF: Ashlea Bengtson, So., Central Missouri

OF: Jessica Brewer, So., Emporia State

OF: Brittany Douglas, Sr., Missouri Western

DP: Abby Smith, Sr., Emporia State

UT: Lindsey Slocum, Sr., Nebraska Omaha [r1]


[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season


[Note: Ties in voting created an additional spot at OF]



P: Karley Schmelzer, So., Emporia State

P: Nicole Reed, Jr., Missouri Southern

C: Amanda Self, So., Emporia State

1B: Adriana Wortley, Jr., Fort Hays State

2B: Brianna Fulkerson, Jr., Missouri Southern

SS: Molly Feichtinger, Jr., Nebraska Omaha

3B: Taylor Reichard, Fr., Emporia State

3B: Maegan Roemmich, So., Missouri Western

OF: Toni Dance, Sr., Missouri Western

OF: Katelyn Hinton, Jr., Nebraska Omaha

OF: Erin Eddy, Sr., Pittsburg State

DP: Amber Lutmer, Fr., Nebraska Omaha

UT: Kelsey Bollman, Fr., Truman


[Note: Ties in voting created an additional spot at 3B]


Central Missouri: Kelli Kurka, Sr., 1B; Braylyn Bivens, Fr., SS; Nicole Norberg, Jr., OF; Kasey Martin, Sr., DP; Brandi Campbell, So., UT.
Emporia State: Jennifer Heerey, Jr., P; Kaitlin Martin, Jr., UT.
Fort Hays State: Kayla Rupa, Sr., P; Britney Workman, So., 2B; Danie Brinkmann, So., SS; Erin Dyok, Jr., 3B; Sara Tani, Sr., OF; Maddie Holub, So., UT.


Lincoln: Clair Lorenz, Jr., P; Raschel Hoeflicker, Sr., 2B; Megan Braun, Jr., OF.
Missouri Southern: Breanna Volkmann, Jr., OF; Dawn Grass, So., DP.
Missouri Western: Jonnelle Belger, Sr., P; Keri Lorbert, So., C; Blair Stalder, Jr., 2B.
Nebraska Omaha: Lauren Larson, Jr., C; Ashley Lynch, Jr., 2B; Sarah Elliott, So., 3B.
Northwest Missouri: Jenna Creger, So., P; Kristen Hessel, Sr., C; Hailee Hendricks, So., 2B; Dacey Hassey, Sr., DP.
Pittsburg State: Amanda DeCastro, Jr., SS.
Southwest Baptist: Josie Rose, Sr., P.
Truman: Mary Manley, Jr., 1B; Laura Miller, So., OF; Bridget Schade, Jr., OF.
Washburn: Kacy Covert, Jr., OF; Lauren Himpel, So., OF; Lindsey Moore, Jr., UT.

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.