Kellen Cox named to AFCA/Allstate Good Works Team - KOAM TV 7

Courtesy: MSSU Sports Information

Kellen Cox named to AFCA/Allstate Good Works Team


NORTHBROOK, Ill. -- Missouri Southern junior wide receiver Kellen Cox has been named to the American Football Coaches Association Allstate Good Works Team.

A program record 132 players were nominated for the award this summer. From the nominations, a special voting panel, including former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® members and current college football broadcasters, selected 22 players from across the country to the team. Of the two 11-member teams, one comprises players competing in the NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision and the other is a combined team representing the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and the NAIA.

Cox is one of just two Division II football players on the team, joining Carson-Newman's Byron Bell. He is a captain on the Lions' football squad and is the President of the MSSU chapter of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. He carries a 3.75 GPA in physical education at Southern, while servinb an various mission trips to Nicaragua, Maine, Mexico, Chicago, New York, Alabama, and Tanzania to name a few. 

"The tremendous community service activities these young student-athletes participate in is exceptional," said Grant Teaff, Executive Director of the American Football Coaches Association. "These 22 student-athletes have sacrificed their personal time in an attempt to make their communities a better place. We couldn't be more proud to have these players make up the 20th Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. We are also proud to be partnered with Allstate in recognizing these outstanding student-athletes."

Fans will be able to vote for an Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® Captain by visiting ESPN.com and searching "Good Works". By viewing the player profiles on the website, fans can learn more about this year's team members and their selfless acts of kindness. The Team Captain and his fellow award recipients will be invited to New Orleans to take part in a special volunteer project leading up to the 2012 Allstate® Sugar Bowl®

The 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel includes several former Good Works Team members including former University of Pittsburgh quarterback Alex Van Pelt, former University of Georgia offensive lineman Matt Stinchcomb and former University of Notre Dame defensive lineman Grant Irons. ESPN personalities Lou Holtz, who also serves as the national ambassador for the program, and Rece Davis are also a part of the voting panel, joined by current AFCA president and Montana State University Head Coach Rob Ash, 1987 AFCA President and former Brigham Young University Head Coach LaVell Edwards and Allstate executive vice president Mark LaNeve.  
The complete teams are listed below.

Football Bowl Subdivision

Robert Griffin Jr. QB Baylor Copperas Cove, Texas
Chris Potter Jr. WR Boise State Westlake Village, Calif.
Brian Lockridge Sr. RB Colorado Trabuco Canyon, Calif.
Aron White Sr. TE Georgia Columbia, Mo.
Jacob Lewellen Jr. DL Kentucky Louisville, Ky.
Jared Crick Sr. DL Nebraska Cozed, Neb.
Alexander Netter Sr. OL Northwestern Rohnert Park, Calif.
Dayne Crist Sr. QB Notre Dame Canoga Park, Calif.
Matt Barkley Jr. QB Southern California Newport Beach, Calif.
Wayne Tribue Sr. OL Temple York, Pa.
Emmanuel Acho Sr. LB Texas Dallas, Texas

Football Championship Subdivision (I-AA), Divisions II, III, and NAIA

Byron Bell Sr. DL Carson-Newman Knoxville, Tenn.
Cory Nikkel Sr. TE Central (Iowa) Pella, Iowa
Jacob Heppner Sr. DB Central Methodist Mansfield, Mo.
Stoy Hall Sr. LB Drake Omaha, Neb.
David Melms Jr. DB Macalester Wauwatosa, Wis.
Kellen Cox Jr. WR Missouri Southern State Mount Vernon, Mo.
Colby Rohde Sr. TE Morningside Wathena, Kan.
Justin Belotti Sr. DB North Dakota Kenosha, Wis.
Yaser Elqutub Sr. LB Northwestern State Katy, Texas
Matt Greenhalgh Jr. OL Rhode Island Chepachet, R.I.
Ricky McClain Jr. DL SUNY Maritime Wantagh, N.Y.
Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.