Con-way announces its Drivers of the Year - KOAM TV 7

Con-way announces its Drivers of the Year

Contractor Driver of the Year:  Jon Smith of Joplin, Missouri Contractor Driver of the Year: Jon Smith of Joplin, Missouri

News release issued by Con-way Truckload

JOPLIN, Mo. - Jan. 21, 2013 - Con-way Truckload, a full truckload carrier and subsidiary of Con-way Inc. (NYSE: CNW), today announced its 2012 Drivers of the Year - the company's highest recognition. 

The Driver of the Year winners include individual and team company and contracted drivers as well as regional. Award criteria included dedication to safety, professional service and exemplary performance. Con-way Truckload recognized the drivers during an awards ceremony at its Joplin headquarters earlier this month.

2012 Drivers of the Year:

Company Driver of the Year, Timothy "Mustang" Hicks, began his career in the trucking industry in 1992 after finishing his service in the U.S. Air Force. Hicks resides in Laredo, Texas, with his wife Betsy. Together they have three children: Morgan, Kayla and Cameron, and two grandchildren.

Contractor Driver of the Year, Jon "Smitty" Smith, started his career in trucking by helping out a friend during the winter months, joining Con-way in 1984. Since becoming a professional driver, he has driven more than 3.7 million miles. Smith resides in Joplin, Mo., with his wife, Tina. He has two daughters and four grandchildren.

Company Team of the Year, Lana and Roy Greenwell, both joined the company in 2007 and note that their favorite aspect of driving is the scenery and the ability to meet new people. Roy has more than 31 years in the industry and Lana has more than 16. They reside in Chandler, Ariz.

Contractor Team of the year, Diana Preito and Fausto Colon, reside in San Diego, Calif. Preito joined Con-way in 2000 and Colon joined as a student in 2006. They both noted the importance of safety on the road and appreciate the ability to travel as part of the job.

Regional Driver of the Year, Juan Lopez, began driving for Con-way in 1996 and operates out of the Laredo terminal. He resides in Galveston, Texas, with his wife, Mily and son, Enrique.

"I am proud to personally recognize the Drivers of the Year for their continued efforts and commitment to our company," said Saul Gonzalez, president of Con-way Truckload. "Our 2012 honorees personify professional driving excellence, ensuring the safety of the motoring public, the satisfaction of our customers and our overall success as a company."

Driver of the Year winners were presented with prizes for their achievement, which included: a custom Con-way Truckload jacket, a customized award plaque, a personalized Con-way Truckload watch, a cash prize, and an official proclamation from the Missouri State Senate.

# # #

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.