MIAA Men's Basketball All-MIAA Team announced - KOAM TV 7

Courtesy: The MIAA

MIAA Men's Basketball All-MIAA Team announced


Kansas City, Mo. – Will McNeill was named the MIAA Player of the Year on the All-MIAA team released today by the conference office. Mark Johnson, whose Fort Hays State team wrapped up the #1 seed in the MIAA Tournament, was named the MIAA Coach of the Year.

McNeill was second in the league in scoring averaging 19.5 points per game and led the league in steals with 80, or 3.1 per game this year. He helped the Ichabods to a 12-6 record in league play and the #3 seed in the MIAA Tournament. Joining McNeill on the first team was MIAA Co-Champion Central Missouri's forward Dominique Long. Long was tenth in the league in scoring and helped lead the Mules to a share of a second straight MIAA title.

Josh Gibbs of Central Oklahoma also earned first team honors as the Bronchos made the most of their first year in the league. Gibbs was fifth in the league in scoring as UCO earned the #6 seed in the MIAA Tournament. Also out of the state of Oklahoma Bryton Hobbs of Northeastern State earned first team honors. Hobbs was third in the league in scoring and fifth in the league in assists as NSU earned the tournaments #4 seed.

Also on the first team from MIAA Co-Champion and #1 seed in the MIAA Tournament was Fort Hays State Forward Dwayne Brunson. Brunson was fourth in the league in rebounding and second in the league in field goal percentage and blocked shots.

Brunson's teammate guard Craig Nicholson was named the MIAA Freshman of the Year. Nicholson led the MIAA in assists averaging seven per game and was fifth in the league in steals. Marky Nolen of Pittsburg State was named the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year. Nolen was second in the league in steals as Pittsburg State finished fifth in the league in turnover margin.

The MIAA Men's Basketball Tournament gets underway with the first four games on the campus sites of the higher seed. Tonight's winning teams will advance to Municipal Auditorium to face the Tournament top four seeds on March 7, 9-10.

Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU

Marky Nolen, Sr., G, PSU

Craig Nicholson, G, FHSU

Mark Johnson, FHSU

Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU**[r1]
Dominique Long, Sr., F, UCM
Josh Gibbs, Jr., F, UCO
Dwayne Brunson, Jr., F, FHSU
Bryton Hobbs, Jr., G, NSU
**Unanimous Selection
[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season
Jermaine Bransford, Sr., F, NSU
Alex Bazzell, Sr., G, LWU
Marquis Addison, Jr., G, MSSU
Craig Nicholson, Fr., G, FHSU
Cedric Ridle, Sr., G, LU

Mike Carlson, Sr, F, TSU
Dillon Starzl, Jr, F, NWMSU
JaVon McGee, Sr., C, PSU
Widgett Washington, Sr., G, UCM
Martin Mitchell, Sr., G, WU

Marky Nolan, Sr., G, PSU
Paul Bunch, Jr., C, ESU
Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU
Bobby Chipman, Sr., F, WU
Matt Wallace, So., G, NWMSU

Charles Hammork, Jr. G, UCM
Paul Bunch, Jr., C, ESU
Kaleb Wright, Jr., G, ESU
Chris Sights, Sr., G, ESU
Lance Russell, Sr., G, FHSU
Ben Conguista, Sr., G, FHSU
Jordan Talbert, Jr., F, MSSU
Cedric Clinkscales, Jr, F, MWSU
Adarius Fulton, Jr., G, MWSU
Jon Henderson, Sr., G, UNK 
DeAngelo Hailey, Sr., G, NWMSU
Alex Sullivan, Sr., G, NWMSU
Kaleb Porter, Fr., G, PSU
Rico Pierrevillus, Sr., F, PSU
Damion Hooks, Jr., F, SBU
Preston Guiot, So., G, SBU
Seth Jackson, So., G, TSU
Tom Norton, Sr., G, TSU
Bobby Chipman, Sr., F, WU

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.