MSSU Regional Science Fair winners announced - KOAM TV 7

MSSU Regional Science Fair winners announced


News release issued by Missouri Southern State University

The 24th Annual Missouri Southern Regional Science Fair, affiliated with the Society for Science and the Public, was held March 26 at Missouri Southern State University. 

Science Fair Projects will be set up by students from area schools in Billingsly Student Center on the MSSU campus

Two senior grand prize winners and one sponsor advance to International Science Fair in Phoenix, Ariz. From May 12-17.

There were four Grand Prize Winners, two in the senior division and two in the junior division and one Outstanding Sponsor.


Senior Division Winners
2013 Grand Prize Winners -- $75 each
Bryant J. Heckart, Seneca High
Christian Smith, Seneca High
2013 Alternate Winners  -- ($25 each)
Matthew Estes, Seneca, First
Zeb Reed, Carthage, Second                                               
First Place in Senior Division Category
Audrey Whetzell, St. Mary's Colgan  MSSU Scholarship
Zeb Reed, Carthage, MSSU Scholarship
First Place by Category ($25 each):
Behavior/Social Science:
Audrey Whetzell, St. Mary's Colgan
Cellular, Molecular and Microbiology:
Bryant J. Heckart, Seneca

Chemistry and Biochemistry:
Tyler Juracek, Aurora
Computer Science, Engineering and Mathematics:
Christian Smith, Seneca
Earth & Environmental Science
Erica Crews, Aurora
Human & Animal Science
Zeb Reed, Carthage
Physics & Astronomy:
Garrett Bader, Aurora,
Plant Science:
Hailey Alexander, Seneca
Outstanding Sponsoring Teacher Award
$100 check and plaque
Rebecca Cavener

Junior Division Winners
Grand Prize Winners -  ($75 each):
Collin Lopes, Joplin South Middle
David Scheuerman, Joplin South Middle  
First Place by Category  ($25 Each)
Behavior/Social Science:
Matthew Dalton
Joplin South Middle
Cellular, Molecular & Microbiology:
Madalyn Ferguson
Chemistry and Biochemistry:
Glori Caputo
Computer Science, Engineering & Mathematics:
Saiona Merry Shajan
Joplin North Middle
Earth & Environmental Science:
Brianne Edwards, Liberal R-II
Rhiannon Morrow, Liberal R-II
Human & Animal Science:
Morgan Henning
Physics & Astronomy:
Collin Lopes
Joplin South Middle
Plant Science:
Tyler Wilks

# # #

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.