Secretary of Homeland Security to present award to Joplin - KOAM TV 7

Secretary of Homeland Security to present award to Joplin


News release issued by the Department of Homeland Security:

"Tomorrow, May 22, Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano will travel to Oklahoma to meet with state and local officials and ensure that first responders are receiving the assistance they need in on-going response and recovery efforts to the severe weather that impacted the region. More details on the trip will be released once they are finalized.

"Secretary Napolitano will then travel to Joplin, Mo., as previously scheduled, to participate in the 2nd Annual Day of Remembrance of the Joplin tornado and present the 2012 Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience to Jane Cage, Chair of the Citizens Advisory Recovery Team, and the citizens of Joplin."

The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience

The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience is the Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) first national resilience award for superior leadership and innovation by a non-governmental individual or organization who exemplifies the qualities and achievements of Rick Rescorla, emphasizing leadership in effective preparation, response, and recovery in the face of disasters.

Rescorla served as Vice President of Security for Morgan Stanley at their Headquarters in the World Trade Center. Following the 1993 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center, Rescorla regularly drilled his Morgan Stanley employees in disaster preparedness and response, especially evacuation.  On 9/11, he personally led a massive evacuation of Morgan Stanley's 2,700 employees, and all but six of Morgan Stanley's workers in the South Tower survived. His commitment to preparedness ensured that the 2,700 Morgan Stanley employees who worked in the South Tower knew how to evacuate and where to go on 9/11.

On September 21, 2011, during a month of commemoration of the tenth anniversary of the 9/11 attacks, Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano honored the memory of Richard "Rick" Rescorla by presenting the DHS Distinguished Public Service Medal to Mr. Rescorla's widow at a ceremony in New York City.  Secretary Napolitano noted: "Since the 9/11 attacks, we have seen exceptional models of resilience all around us. By honoring Richard Rescorla with the Distinguished Public Service medal, we remember his heroism and commitment to the preparedness of the thousands of employees under his watch."  During her presentation, Secretary Napolitano announced that DHS would create a first-ever national award inspired by the actions and resilience of Rick Rescorla.

Eligibility and Criteria 


  • Outstanding performance during 2012 in withstanding, adapting, and rapidly recovering from natural or human caused incidents that impact lives or property 
  • Demonstrable success in saving lives, protecting property and the environment, and meeting basic human needs because of outstanding prior preparation and/or extraordinary efforts during or after incidents 
  • Outstanding leadership in assisting individuals, families, organizations and/or communities in response or recovery from natural or human caused incidents
  • Outstanding performance during 2012 in developing resilience in anticipation of future incidents threatening life or property  
  • Motivating and assisting individuals (including those with special needs), families, organizations, and/or communities to take steps that effectively achieve resilience, for example, developing personal and community preparedness plans and organizing communities so as to promote the rapid recovery of essential services
  • Implementing regular training and exercises that test the resilience of individuals, families, organizations and/or communities
  • Implementing private sector preparedness, for example, developing plans for business continuity and the adoption of cyber security consensus standards and industry best practices to the fullest extent possible
  • Exceeding existing building and other codes in the design and construction of infrastructure, including homes, office buildings, and highway bridges and tunnels



How to Nominate for the Award

Eligible candidates may be nominated for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience during the nomination period that begins on April 1, 2013 at 12:00 a.m. and closes on May 31, 2013 at 11:59 p.m. All nominations must be submitted by email to the following DHS email address: rescorlaaward@hq.dhs.gov.

# # #


Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.