NEO President Dr. Jeff Hale named chairman of the Council of Two - KOAM TV 7

NEO President Dr. Jeff Hale named chairman of the Council of Two-Year College Presidents


NEO President Dr. Jeff Hale named chairman of the Council of Two-Year College Presidents

Miami, Oklahoma – Friday, Sept. 13, 2013 – Dr. Jeff Hale, president of Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) was recently appointed as chairman of the Council of Two-Year College Presidents for the state system colleges of Oklahoma.

Oklahoma’s community colleges have experienced a dramatic increase in enrollment in the last decade. This increase is driven by not only returning adult students, but also by significant increases in recent high school graduates, international students, and students who already have college degrees, according to the OACC website.

“Congratulations to President Hale on being elected chairman of the Council of Two-Year Presidents,” said Chancellor Glen D. Johnson, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. “I have worked with President Hale in different capacities over the last 17 years, and I believe his extensive experience in higher education will make him an invaluable asset to the council. I look forward to our continued partnership to advance higher education in Oklahoma.”

Since the year 2000, community colleges in Okla. have experienced a 34 percent growth in enrollment, while regional institutions experienced only a 7 percent growth, and research institutions had an 11 percent growth in enrollment.

Community colleges in Okla. have also experienced a 23 percent increase in the number of degrees and certificates conferred since fiscal year 2000 and award almost one-third of the total college degrees conferred.

“I am confident Dr. Hale will have remarkable success as chair of the Oklahoma Council of Two-Year College Presidents,” said Gary Davidson, executive director of the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges (OACC). “His open communication style and thorough understanding of the challenges facing the two-year college system will serve him well as the Council’s spokesperson.”

Member institutions of the OACC include: Carl Albert State College, Connors State College, Eastern Oklahoma State College, Murray State College, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, Northern Oklahoma State, Oklahoma City Community College, OSU-IT, OSU-OKC, Redlands Community College, Rose State College, Seminole State College, Tulsa Community College and Western Oklahoma State College.

“The Two-Year College Presidents have made an outstanding choice in selecting President Hale to chair the Council in the coming year. As we have seen at NEO, President Hale is a dynamic, energetic leader in Oklahoma higher education, and I know the Council will thrive under his leadership,” said Jason Ramsey, Chief Executive Officer of the Board of Regents.

Hale’s chairmanship will run from September 2013 through August 2014.

“Many of Oklahoma’s two-year colleges have been serving Oklahomans for more than a century. Our campuses span the entire state, and our graduates have gone on to be leaders in medicine, law, education, business, and aviation, just to name a few,” Hale said. “I am honored and blessed to be associated with NEO and the public, two-year colleges of Okla.”

# # #

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.