Cowboy Basketball - KOAM TV 7

Cowboy Basketball


Press Release Oklahoma State University: 

Oklahoma State'sCowboy Basketball team will start practicing for the 2013-14 season onSaturday. OSU returns four starters and adds four newcomers to this year'ssquad.


The Cowboys will be led by Markel Brown, the lone senior on thesquad, as well as Marcus Smart, a preseason All-American. Also heading up OSUwill be juniors Le'Bryan Nash and Michael Cobbins, who both were named All-Big12 last season.


Brown, an All-Big 12 Second Team selection last year, has playedin 100 career games. He enters his final season in a Cowboy uniform with 1,071points, ranking 32nd in school history. His 78 career blocked shots are themost ever by an OSU guard, and he has started 45 consecutive games entering theseason.


Smart, the reigning Big 12 Player of the Year, is a consensuspreseason first-team All-American and has been named the preseason nationalplayer of the year by Dime magazine. The national freshman of the year lastseason, he established a Big 12 Conference record for steals by a freshman andstarted every game for the Pokes.


Nash, an All-Big 12 Third Team selection as a sophomore, hasstarted 55 games in his career and has 44 double-figure scoring games in hiscareer. He needs just 167 points to become the 38th 1,000-point scorer inschool history. Cobbins, an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention and a member of theBig 12 All-Defensive Team last season, needs just eight blocks to become theeighth Cowboy in school history to record 100 career deflections.


Also returning for Oklahoma State is junior Brian Williams, whomissed more than half of last season due to a wrist injury. He started 20 gamesas a freshman in 2011-12, and is expected to be a big contributor this season.Sophomores Phil Forte and Kamari Murphy are also back. Forte established aschool record for three-pointers by a freshman with 68 last season, and Murphystarted 15 games as a freshman last year and grabbed nearly four rebounds pergame.


In all, OSU returns more than 96 percent of its scoring, nearly 84percent of its rebounding, more than 97 percent of its assists and steals fromlast year, and more than 77 percent of its blocked shots. Meanwhile, theCowboys have added four newcomers: guard Stevie Clark, wings Jeffrey Carrolland Leyton Hammonds, and post player Gary Gaskins. Clark is an Oklahoma nativeand is a two-time Oklahoma high school player of the year; Carroll and Hammondswere both All-State selections in the largest class in the state of Texas; andGaskins is a 6-10 shot blocker who transferred from Brevard Community Collegein Florida.


It was also announced today that Tuesday, October 1, is the firstday that single game and flex-plan tickets will go on sale for CowboyBasketball games. The single-game general admission tickets range from $5 forexhibition games to $25 for the Texas contest. There will be no single-gameinventory for premium games (Oklahoma, Kansas or Kansas State).


However, premium-game tickets will be available in the Pick 6 Flexplan for $249. In this plan, fans can choose a total of six games to attend,including two of: Campbellsville, Emporia State, Mississippi Valley State, UtahValley, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Delaware State and Robert Morris; three gamesfrom: Memphis, South Carolina, Texas, TCU, West Virginia, Baylor, Iowa Stateand Texas Tech; and one premium game against Oklahoma, Kansas or Kansas State.The Pick 6 Flex plan includes a reserved seat in Sections 303, 304, 317 or 318,and there are approximately 300 packages available.


A limited number of season tickets are still available in the 200and 300 levels of Gallagher-Iba Arena, giving fans a great way to catch all ofthe home games this season. Fans interested in any form of tickets can contactthe OSU Athletic Ticket office at (877) 255-4678 or on-line at <www.okstate.com/tickets>.

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.