NEO’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts 27 students - KOAM TV 7

NEO’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts 27 students



NEO’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts 27 students

Miami, Okla. – Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2013 -- Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College’s (NEO) Mu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) recently inducted 27 students into the prestigious international honor society. The ceremony took place last week. The keynote speaker for the evening was Dr. Shannon Cunningham, assistant vice president of academic affairs.

Cunningham spoke about how students can use their gift of intelligence, and how powerful intellect really is.

She also showed the students a YouTube video that involved a “pep talk” from a young child.

To gain admittance into PTK, which is an international honor society, students must complete at least 12 hours of courses and maintain a 3.5 grade point average. Through their membership in PTK, students have access to scholarships and service opportunities.

The Mu chapter on the NEO campus is very involved. They are committed to serve the campus by providing student manpower to clean up after football games held at the NEO stadium. PTK sponsors the Food-4-Finals event, a tutoring session and breakfast held every semester during finals week to provide instructor/student interaction as students prepare for final exams. Students are currently working on their college and honor’s project that involves creating awareness on the NEO campus of the Miami downtown area and working in conjunction with the City of Miami officials to make this happen.

“I'm extremely pleased with this semester's inductees. Earning an invitation into PTK is recognition for their hard work and potential, and both myself, my co-sponsor, Rob Rea, and our officers, look forward to helping each of them reach their goals,” said LaShawna Powers, PTK’s new co-sponsor. “We have no doubt that they can achieve whatever they set out to do.”

Students who were inducted into PTK include:

Brittany Agee, Grove

Kaitlyn Allen, Oologah

Sarah Boyle, Grove

Molly Caudill, Fairland

Taylor Clark, Belvidere, Ill.

Kaleena Commons, Seneca, Mo.

Lindsey Cox, Big Cabin

Clarissa Davis, Afton

Samantha Degenero-Scheib, Miami

Samuel Edwards, Fair Grove, Mo.

Sherry Enyart, Wyandotte

Cheryl Fox, Miami

Jeremy Frantz, Miami

Regina Hafner, Miami

Dustin Hash, Chelsea

Tracy Herron, Mead

Gregory Kline, Fairland

Bryson Knox, Grove

Chelsea Landes, Owasso

Lexie Lavalley, Claremore

Heather Maher, Jay

McKenzi Marlow, Wyandotte

Jacob McGuire, Fairland

Saige Miller, Pleasant Hill, Mo.

Kimberly Roberts, Miami

Timothy Taylor, Vinita

Chelsea Tyree, Quapaw

Alexis Wade, Miami

Trixie Wheeler, Grove

Caitlin Wilson, Vinita

Raemon Wilson, Nassau, Bahamas

Holly Wofford, Kansas

Jennifer Wood, Miami

Flavia Ybarra, Commerce


Photo at right:  Bottom row, left to right: Dominique Lindsey, LaShawna Powers, Lindsay Tasos, Morgan Marley, Kelsey Brown, Butch Lowry, Shauna Hockey, Dr. Bethene Fahnestock, and Chong Lee. Second row, left to right: Alyx Carlton, Josh Cook, Dr. Hale, NEO president, Falavia Ybarra, Samantha Degenero-Scheib, Lexi Wade, Chelsea Tyree, Lindsey Cox, Tracy Herron, Lea Crump, Rob Rea, and Kelsey Williams. Third row, left to right: Shannon Cunningham, assistant vice president of academic affairs, Clayton Wilson, Holly Wofford, Sheryl Fox, Sarah Boyle, Molly Caudill, and Kaitlyn Allen. Back row, left to right: Garrett Edwards, Gregory Kline, Clarissa Davis, Sherry Enyart, Timothy Taylor, and Jeremy Frantz.

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.