All-MIAA Volleyball Team released - KOAM TV 7

All-MIAA Volleyball Team released



MIAA regular seasonco-champions Central Missouri and Washburn placed three and two members on theAll-MIAA first team respectively. Nebraska-Kearney also placed two members onthe first team and Missouri Western had one as the teams were releasedtoday. 

The MIAA Player of the Year is Central Missouri setter Julia Bates who is thirdin the league in assists with 11.05 and second in the league in service aces asshe helped her team to the league's top hitting percentage. She is joined onthe first team by Washburn setter Abby Wittman who is second in the MIAA inassists per set.

Washburn's Marissa Cox and Central Missouri's Taylor Goodness were eachunanimous selections in the hitting positions. Goodness and Cox set first andsecond in the league in kills per set and both are in the top ten in hittingpercentage.

They are joined along the net by MJ Massanet and Katie Sokolowski ofNebraska-Kearney along with Missouri Western outside hitter Erica Rottinghaus.Annie Reilly is the first team libero after averaging 5.33 digs per set duringthe regular season.

Pittsburg State's Madison Mosier was named the MIAA Freshman of the Year afteraveraging 2.75 kills per set for her team during the regular season. CentralMissouri's Flip Piontek who guided his team to a 15-1 record in league play anda 29-1 overall record in the regular season.

The semi-finals of the MIAA Tournament are scheduled to begin on Friday, Nov.22 at 5 p.m. from Warrensburg, Mo.

Player of the Year: Julia Bates, S, Central Missouri
Freshman of the Year: Madison Mosier, RS, Pittsburg State
Coach of the Year: Flip Piontek, Central Missouri

1st Team
Marissa Cox, RS, Washburn^ 
Taylor Goodness, OH, Central Missouri^
MJ Massanet, OH, Nebraska-Kearney
Erica Rottinghaus, OH, Missouri Western
Katie Sokolowski, MH, Nebraska-Kearney
Julia Bates, S, Central Missouri
Abby Wittman, S, Washburn 
Annie Reilly, L, Central Missouri

2nd Team
Carly Sojka, OH, Central Missouri
Ashley Leitner, OH, Nebraska-Kearney
Haley Thompson, MH, Central Missouri
Paige Vanderpool, OH, Emporia State
Barbara Jackson, OH, Central Oklahoma
Erin Seele, S, Nebraska-Kearney
Tate Hardaker, L, Central Oklahoma
Kelsey Lewis, L, Washburn

3rd Team
Kayla Guyot, MH, Lindenwood
Madison Mosier, RS, Pittsburg State
Ellie Pesavento, MH, Nebraska-Kearney
Brooke Bartosh, RS, Northwest Missouri
Leanna Willer, OH, Washburn
Jordan Nedbalek, MH, Southwest Baptist
Hayley Hansford, S, Pittsburg State
Liz McGowan, L, Nebraska-Kearney

Honorable Mention
Central Missouri – Becca Blaise, RS; Maddie Jones, MH.
Central Oklahoma – Allison Barr, MH; Juliette Smith, MH.
Emporia State – Carly Spicer, MH; Courtney Haring, MH; KellyHolden, L; Brianna Kaiser, OH; Katie Deutschmann, RS; McKenzie Pankratz, S.
Fort Hays State – Taylor Mares, RS; Makenzie Weinman, L; JennaUlrich, MH; Mallory Flagor, RS.
Lindenwood – Emma Brydels, S; Shannon Doyle, OH.
Missouri Southern – Katie Politte, OH.
Missouri Western – Kelsey Olion, RS; Amanda Boender, MH; SarahFaubel, L.
Northwest Missouri – Abby Graves, OH; Mackie Keller, MH.
Pittsburg State – Paula Okrutna, MH; Jordan Rehm, L.
Southwest Baptist – Hannah Blount, L; Nikki Madoch, MH.
Washburn – Corrinne Stringer, OH; Sarah Vicory, MH.

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.