OU FB: Four Sooners Named All-Big 12 First Team - KOAM TV 7

OU FB: Four Sooners Named All-Big 12 First Team


Press Release University of Oklahoma:

FourSooners were named to the All-Big 12 First Team as voted on by the league'scoaches, the conference announced Wednesday. Offensive lineman Gabe Ikard andfullback Trey Millard were named to the first team along with defensive backAaron Colvin and defensive lineman Charles Tapper. In addition, linebackerDominique Alexander was named the Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year.

Ikardand Millard were both named to the first team for a third consecutive year,while Colvin earned first-team honors for the second year in a row. For Tapper,it marks the first conference honor of his career. Ikard, a senior fromOklahoma City, Okla., also earned honorable mention in the Big 12 OffensiveLineman of the Year voting.

Thanksin part to Ikard, the Oklahoma offense ranks second in the conference and 18thnationally with 235.8 rushing yards per game. The offensive line has alsoallowed just 14 sacks this year, a figure that ranks 17th in thecountry. Millard suffered a season-ending injury against Texas Tech on Oct. 26,but finished the year with 97 rushing yards and 78 receiving yards with pair oftouchdowns and his usual standout blocking.

Colvinranks fifth on the Sooners with 49 tackles and also has 5.0 tackles for loss,an interception and a fumble recovery. In his first season as a starter, Tapperranks seventh in the Big 12 with 5.5 sacks on the season and is tied for 17thwith 9.0 TFL.

FourOU players were also named to the All-Big 12 Second Team. Offensive linemanDaryl Williams earned second-team honors a year after his honorable mentionstatus, while wide receiver Jalen Saunders, linebacker Eric Striker and kickerMichael Hunnicutt all earned the first conference accolades of their respectivecareers.

Saundersleads OU in both receptions (56) and receiving yards (654) and is tied for theteam lead with six touchdown receptions. His figure of 4.8 receptions per gamesits seventh in the Big 12. Striker is second among Sooners with 7.5 TFL, 3.5sacks and seven quarterback hurries. He also has a fumble recovery for atouchdown this year.

Hunnicuttis tied for the nation's lead with a school-record 23 made field goals thisyear, while his conversion percentage of 88.5 is second in the Big 12 and 19thnationally. He also added to his game with a touchdown reception on a fakefield goal at Oklahoma State on Dec. 7.

Inaddition, Gabe Lynn was named honorable mention at defensive back, while FrankShannon received the same at linebacker. Head coach Bob Stoops was also anhonorable mention choice for Coach of the Year.

TheUniversity of Oklahoma has placed at least four players on the all-conferencefirst team every season since 2000 and at least one player on the team everyseason since 1926 (88 years). In fact, OU has only had one season when playingin a conference without first-team honors (1925). That's 98 of 99 seasons.

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.