Brown, Dreiling Selected to Compete in 2014 East-West Shrine Ga - KOAM TV 7

Brown, Dreiling Selected to Compete in 2014 East-West Shrine Game


Press Release PSU: 

Pittsburg State University wide receiver John Brown and linebacker Nate Dreiling has been invited to compete in the 2014 East-West Shrine Game.

The East-West Shrine Game is the longest running college all-star game in the country. A staple in college football since 1925, the game has consistently proven to be a launch pad for players seeking professional careers in the NFL. More than 100 players from the 88th East-West Shrine Game signed with professional football teams in 2013.

The 89th edition of the East-West Shrine Game will take place Saturday, Jan. 18, at Tropicana Field at 3 p.m. (CST). The game will be broadcast on the NFL Network.

Brown and Dreiling are the first two Pitt State football players to be invited to the East-West Shrine Game.

Brown, a Homestead, Fla., native, caught 61 passes for 1,198 yards (19.6 ypc, 99.8 ypg) and 14 touchdowns during his senior campaign. He also rushed the ball 17 times for 100 yards (5.9 ypc) and two touchdowns. Brown also averaged 32.4 yards per kickoff return with one touchdown and he averaged 11.5 yards per punt return on the season.

He finished his decorated three-year Pitt State career with 185 catches for 3,380 yards and 32 touchdowns - all school records.

The 2012 NCAA Division II National Special Teams Player of the Year, Brown has garnered All-America honors as both a wide receiver and a return specialist each of the last two seasons (2011-12).

Dreiling, a Hutchinson/Victoria, Kan., native, recorded a team-leading 109 tackles (38 solo) with 9.5 tackles-for-loss, four pass breakups and one interception. A three-time All-American and the 2011 NCAA Division II National Defensive Player of the Year, Dreiling finished his career with 491 tackles. He set the MIAA record for career stops and placed third on the NCAA Division II record list for career tackles.

Dreiling was named a national finalist for the inaugural Cliff Harris Award Wednesday (Dec. 11). The Cliff Harris Award honors the Small College Defensive Player of the Year.  

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.