Diamond Dinner Set for February 7 - KOAM TV 7

Diamond Dinner Set for February 7



TheOklahoma baseball team's 11th Annual Diamond Dinner is scheduled forFriday, February 7 at 7:00 pm. The banquet will take place at the ChesapeakeCourtside Club at the Lloyd Noble Center. First-year head coach Pete Hughesannounced that alumni Bobby Witt and Garrett Richards will be honored at theevent.


"TheDiamond Dinner is a great way to introduce the team and staff to the communitywith opening day right around the corner," said Hughes. "To do so with two MLBFirst Round picks to honor is a testament to the success of our program."


Theevent is open to the public and tickets will be sold at $30 per person. Allattendees must register beforehand. Walk-ups will not be permitted. Toregister, contact the OU baseball office at 405-325-8354.


Wittstarred at Oklahoma from 1984-85. Along with Jonathan Gray, he is the highestdrafted player in program history, being selected third overall by the TexasRangers in 1985. Over a 16-year career with seven teams, Witt posted 142 winsin the Major Leagues and 1,955 strikeouts. He started 397 of his 430 careergames and was a 10-game winner in seven seasons, including a 17-win campaign in1990.


Richardswore the Crimson & Cream from 2007-08 and was selected 42nd overallin the first round of the 2009 draft by the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.After making his big league debut in 2011 for the Angels, Richards has appearedin 84 games, starting 29 and winning 11. He has struck out 157 batters through230 inning of work.


"BobbyWitt is one of the most accomplished OU baseball players at the professionallevel," stated Hughes. "Garrett Richards continues to prove his worth as aMajor League pitcher with the Angels and we are excited to have them both backhome in Norman."


Thehonorees, current Oklahoma baseball student-athletes and alumni will beavailable for an autograph session during the event. Attendees will be thefirst to see a video preview of the 2014 Sooner season.


PastDiamond Dinner Honorees

2013:Javier Flores

2012:Ryan Rohlinger

2011:Daniel McCutchen

2010:Greg Norton

2009:Darron Cox

2008:Bob Stephenson, Reggie Willits

2007:Eddie Fisher, Geoff Geary, L. Dale Mitchell

2006:Jeff Bajenaru, Rich Hills

2005:Kyle Denney, Damon Minor, Ryan Minor

2004:Mark Redman, Russ Ortiz

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.