Gilbert Wins College Football Performance Award - KOAM TV 7

Gilbert Wins College Football Performance Award


Press Release OSU:

Oklahoma State senior cornerback Justin Gilbert isthe 2013 recipient of the College Football Performance Award as the nation'stop defensive back, it was announced Thursday.

No other school has a longer Performance Awardhistory than Oklahoma State. Perrish Cox (2008 kickoff returner), Dez Bryant(2008 wide receiver), Justin Blackmon (2010 wide receiver), Quinn Sharp (2009kickoff specialist, 2011 kickoff specialist), and Justin Gilbert (2013defensive back) have all finished seasons with the strongest performances attheir respective positions.

"On behalf of the College Football PerformanceAwards, I congratulate 2013 Defensive Back Trophy recipient, Justin Gilbert, onan outstanding season for the Cowboys," said Brad Smith, executive director ofthe College Football Performance Awards. "Gilbert finished the season not onlywith the strongest defensive back performance but the strongest career kickoffreturn performance in Division I FBS college football."

The purpose of the College Football PerformanceAwards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in collegefootball. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientificrankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overalleffectiveness of their teams. Twenty-one CFPA winners have been first-round NFLDraft selections.

The award is the latest in a long list for Gilbertthis season, as he has also been honored as a Jim Thorpe Award finalist,first-team Walter Camp All-American, first-team FWAA All-American, second-teamAssociated Press All-American, first-team All-Big 12 Coaches selection andfirst-team All-Big 12 Associated Press selection, among several other honors.

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.