Changes to MSSU Board of Governors announced - KOAM TV 7

Changes to MSSU Board of Governors announced



Changes to Board of Governors announced

Joplin, MO (SNS) – Richard Walter marked the end of his term on the Missouri Southern State University Board of Governors during the board meeting held Friday, Jan. 17.

Walter, of Webb City, had retired in 2005 as a district engineer with the Missouri Department of Transportation. He was appointed to the eight-member board by Gov. Matt Blunt in November 2007. His term expired on Aug. 30, 2013, but he continued to serve on the board until his replacement was announced.

Having served three terms as vice chair before serving as the board’s chairman, Walter was replaced by Tracy Combs Flanigan, who was appointed to the board earlier this month by Gov. Jay Nixon.

“It was very educational and enjoyable,” Walter said of his term on the Board of Governors. “I feel blessed and honored to have been associated with the university and the board.”

Walter will continue to serve as co-chair of the presidential search committee.

Lynn Ewing, the board’s vice chair, will serve as acting chair until the board holds an election, which is expected to take place in February.

“I’m pleased that Richard Walter has agreed to continue to serve on the presidential search committee,” said Ewing. “I’ll miss his work on the board. He was always willing to ask the hard questions.

“On behalf of the board, I’d like to welcome Tracy Combs Flanigan. We’re looking forward to working with her.”

Flanigan, a Carthage resident, operates a private practice in Carthage and Fort Worth, Texas. She serves as outside legal counsel to the Burlington Northern and Santa Fe Railway Co., and previously as assistant general counsel for the company.

Her term on the Board of Governors will end on Aug. 30, 2019.

# # #

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.