NEO’s freshmen livestock team sweeps Marion County, Ill. contest - KOAM TV 7

NEO’s freshmen livestock team sweeps Marion County, Ill. contest by 14 points


Miami, Okla. – Friday, April 11, 2014– The livestock judging team from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO), traveled to Marion County, Ill. for a competition at the Marion County Livestock Judging Contest. This was NEO’s first time to travel to this contest, but they were successful. NEO’s freshmen won champion high team overall, won high team in reasons, had four individuals in the top 10, and a high individual in sheep, plus numerous other top 10 individuals in each division (swine, sheep and cattle).

In addition to winning high team overall, they were second in sheep and hogs, and third in cattle.

At Marion County, NEO freshmen had three teams. One team finished first overall and first high team in reasons. The second team placed fourth overall and the third team placed 10th.

There were 11 teams competing at the contest. The 60 contestants had to judge 12-placing classes and give six sets of oral reasons.

Team member Morgan Scroggin was third high individual overall, high individual in sheep and goats, and tenth in reasons. Clay McGuire finished sixth high individual overall, second in sheep and goats, seventh in swine, and third in reasons. Dylan Davis placed fourth in swine and eighth in cattle. Jake Pickering was ninth overall, sixth in swine, fifth in sheep and goats, and seventh in reasons. Cole Kaufman finished tenth overall and sixth in cattle. Brody Cridlebaugh finished eighth in sheep and goats and ninth in reasons. Wesley Henry placed second in cattle.

“This is a great way to end the year and what I hope is a promising forecast for what is to come next season,” said Tyler Dewey, head livestock judging coach. “This is a talented group of students, and we have high expectations for next year.”

To keep up with the NEO livestock team, follow them on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/NEOAMLivestockJudging?ref=br_tf.


Pictured: Back row, from left: Tyler Dewey, livestock judging coach, Klay Beisly, Phil Collier, Dylan Davis, Canyon Dewey, Evan Summers, Jake Pickering, and Cole Kaufman.  Front row, from left: Natalie Hofschulte, Travis Brewer, Michaela Branen, Clay McGuire, Morgan Scroggin, Wes Henry, and Brody Cridlebaugh.

Powered by WorldNow

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.