Football lands ten on All-MIAA Squad - KOAM TV 7

Football lands ten on All-MIAA Squad



The Missouri Southern football team had ten players named to the All-MIAA squad the league announced today. 

Leading the way for the Lions is junior kick returner Ty'Quan Hayes as the Dillon, SC native was named a second-team selection by the coaches. Hayes led the MIAA in combined kick returns this year and ranked second in the league in punt returns. He ranked 21st nationally in punt returns, averaging 13.2 yards per return. 

Giresse Forchu was a third-team pick this year. He led the MIAA in rushing touchdowns and ranked 21st nationally with 15 scores. The 15 rushing scores is the third-most all-time in a single season at Missouri Southern. 

Austin Wolfe was also named a third-team pick this season after helping to lead the offensive line that led the MIAA in rushing yardage for the third-straight season. This year, the Lions rushed for 2,954 yards and had 39 TD's rushing. 

Johnquavious McBride was the Lions' other third-team pick. This year, McBride finished second in the MIAA in fumble recoveries, while also finishing fifth in the league in interceptions and sixth in passes defended. 

Earning honorable mention All-MIAA honors for the Lions were fullback Shannon Saunders, offensive lineman Caleb Benner, linebacker Dalvin Taylor, defensive back Gaige Washington, kicker Brock Renken and punter Kyle Jaski

Pittsburg State quarterback Anthony Abenoja was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while Northwest Missouri defensive lineman Matt Longacre was the Defensive Player of the Year. PSU kicker Connor Frazell was the Special Teams Player of the Year, while Central Oklahoma quarterback Chas Stallard was the leauge's Freshman of the Year. PSU coach Tim Beck was the Coach of the Year. 
Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.