All-MIAA Men's Basketball Team released - KOAM TV 7

All-MIAA Men's Basketball Team released



Connor Beranek of Nebraska-Kearney has been named the MIAA Men's Basketball Player of the Year after averaging a league best 19.7 points per game in the regular season. Pittsburg State head coach Kevin Muff and Northwest Missouri head coach Ben McCollum were named Co-Coach of the Year award winners.

Beranek was also third in the league in rebounds with 7.7 per game as his team went 12-7 in league play. Joining Beranek on the first team was teammate Ethan Brozek who is second in the league is scoring with 17.2 points and second in rebounds with 7.9 boards per game.

Central Missouri's Brennen Hughes, who currently leads the league in field goal percentage, also was named first team. Josiah Gustafson of Pittsburg State is also on the first team after finishing the regular season fifth in the league in scoring.

Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri was named fist team after finishing eighth in scoring and first in the league in three-point field goal percentage. Pitts also earned Freshman of the Year honors after helping lead Northwest Missouri to the MIAA Regular Season Championship.

Matt Wallace, also of the champion Bearcats, was named the MIAA Defensive Player of the Year after finishing the regular season third in the league in steals.

The MIAA Men's Basketball Tournament gets underway tonight with the first four games on the campus sites of the higher seed. Tonight's winning teams will advance to Municipal Auditorium to face the tournament's top four seeds on March 5, 7-8.

Player of the Year
Connor Beranek, Jr., F, UNK

Defensive Player of the Year
Matt Wallace, Sr., G, NWMSU

Freshman of the Year
Justin Pitts, Fr., G, NWMSU  

Co-Coach of the Year
Kevin Muff, PSU & Ben McCollum, NWMSU  

All-MIAA First Team
Connor Beranek, Jr., F, UNK**
Brennen Hughes, Sr., F, UCM
Ethan Brozek, Jr., F, UNK

Justin Pitts, Fr., G, NWMSU
Josiah Gustafson, So., PSU  
**Unanimous Selection

All-MIAA Second Team
Taevaunn Prince, Jr., F, MSSU

Rakeem Dickerson, Sr., G, UCM
Conner Crooker, Jr., G, NWMSU
Darris Smith, Sr., G, LWU
Kyle Wiggins, Sr., G, WU  

All-MIAA Third Team
Dom Samac, Jr., F, FHSU

Terrence Moore, Jr., G, ESU
Devon Branch, Sr., G, PSU
Menas Stephens, Sr., G, SBU
Mahlon Jones, Sr., G, UCO  

All-Defensive Team
Matt Wallace, Sr., G, NWMSU

TJ White, Sr., G, UCM
Javis Flynn, Jr., G, PSU
Greg Renfroe, Jr., C, MSSU
Preston Brunz, Sr., G, UCM   

Honorable Mention All-MIAA

Dillon Deck, Sr., UCM
Phillip Brown, Sr., UCO

Craig Nicholson, Jr., FHSU

Joshua Buie, Sr., LU
Cory Arentsen, Jr., LWU

Chance Creekmur, Sr., LWU
Cameron Cornelius, Sr., MSSU
Lane Barlow, Sr., MSSU

Cortrez Colbert, Sr., MWSU

Trey Mohair, Jr., NSU
Grant Cozad, Sr., NWMSU
Zach Schneider, So., NWMSU
Alex North, Sr., WU

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.