Jeff Fraley takes home top honor at 2015 MSSU Student-Athlete Ba - KOAM TV 7

Jeff Fraley takes home top honor at 2015 MSSU Student-Athlete Banquet

___MissouriSouthernLionsLOGO ___MissouriSouthernLionsLOGO
Press Release MSSU:

Jeff Fraley was named the E.O and Virginia Humphrey Winner, while Chris Hoffman and Callie Whetstone earned Male and Female Athletes of the Year as the MSSU Student-Athletes were honored tonight at the annual banquet. 

Fraley is one of the most decorated student-athletes ever at Missouri Southern and tonight he earned the department's top honor. This year, Fraley has earned both the Indoor and Outdoor MIAA High Point Award at the MIAA Track and Field Meets. He just recently won the 100m, the 200m and was the anchorman on the 4x100m relay team that earned All-MIAA honors for finishing third. 

In the indoor season, Fraley was the MIAA champ in the 60m and the 200m, while anchoring the team that set the indoor mile relay school record. Fraley now owns the indoor 60m, 200m, 400m and mile relay records, while also owning the outdoor 100m, 200m, 400m and 4x100m school records. 

But his contributions don't stop on the track. Fraley carries a 3.5 GPA in biology at MSSU and has been a member of the MSSU Dean's List, while also being named to the MIAA Academic Honor Roll every semester in attendance. He has also been honored as a track coaches Academic All-American, as well. 

Callie Whetstone was named the MSSU Female Athlete of the Year. The junior re-wrote the blocking records this year at MSSU. She broke the single season block assist record and helped the team break the team block assist record, as well. A second-team All-MIAA selection, Whetstone led the NCAA in blocks per set, while leading the MIAA in block assists, total blocks and blocks per set. 

Chris Hoffman was named the MSSU Male Athlete of the Year. Hoffman helped the Missouri Southern baseball team to the 2015 MIAA Regular Season Championship and the Lions are currently ranked 15th nationally. This year, Hoffman is a Division II Player of the Year semi-finalist, while ranking second in the MIAA in batting average, third in hits, and fourth in on-base percentage. He and the Lions are participating in the final four of the MIAA Baseball Tournament this weekend in Kansas City. 

Each of the Teams also recognized a Team MVP and a Lionbacker Award of Excellence winner. That complete list is below. 

Team MVP's

Golf - Ryan Buerk
Dr. Pat Lipira Softball MVP - Myranda Stewart
Women's Outdoor Track - Kindra Emberton
Women's Indoor Track - Emily Harris
Women's Cross Country - Dora Eastin
Women's Basketball - Sharese Jones
Baseball Warren Turner MVP - Chris Hoffman
Football - Giresse Forchu
Volleyball Most Improved Player - Monica White
Soccer - Kelsey Haist
Men's Cross Country - Andrew Webster
Men's Indoor Track  - Darion Boure
Men's Outdoor Track - Jeff Fraley
Men's Basketball Robert Corn MVP - Taevaunn Prince
Cheer and Dance - Jessi Nelson

Lionbacker Award of Excelence

Golf - Ethan Hutcheson
Softball - Brooke Swadley
Women's Outdoor Track - Ashleigh McFarland
Women's Indoor Track - Sydney Potts
Women's Cross Country - Kaitlyn Belisle
Women's Basketball - Nic Hartzog
Baseball - Kanon Hoover
Football - Ty'Quan Hayes
Volleyball - Abby Finder
Soccer - Beth Hammons
Men's Cross Country - Eric Schott
Men's Indoor Track - Jeff Fraley
Men's Outdoor Track - Derek Webb
Men's Basketball - Cameron Cornelius 

  • Current Conditions

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.