All-MIAA baseball team announced - KOAM TV 7

All-MIAA baseball team announced

___MissouriSouthernLionsLOGO ___MissouriSouthernLionsLOGO


Regular season champion Missouri Southern placed four players and Emporia State also placed four on the All-MIAA baseball team released today.

The MIAA Player of the Year was Emporia State third baseman Dean Long who hit .380 with 21 home runs and 76 runs driven in. The MIAA Pitcher of the Year is Missouri Southern's Cody Hutchinson who went 10-0 with a 2.51 earned run average on the year.

The MIAA Freshman of the Year was Lindenwood Outfielder Drew Quinones who hit .385 with nine home runs and 50 runs scored. Bryce Darnell of Missouri Southern was named the Coach of the Year after leading his team to the MIAA regular season championship.

Rounding out the first team pitching staff were Missouri Southern's Payton Walker and Northeastern State's Ryan Helsley with Emporia State's Shawn Talkington named the first team relief pitcher.

In the infield Nebraska-Kearney's Max Ayoub was named behind the plate with Emporia State's Evan Koehler selected at first base. Up the middle Charles Sims of Northeastern State was named at second base, Ross Wolfe of Southwest Baptist at shortstop and ESU's Long unanimously at third base.

In the outfield Emporia State's Justin Harris earned a unanimous selection and is joined by Anthony Pacheco of Nebraska-Kearney and Trevor Jones of Central Missouri. Missouri Southern's Jesse Rall was named the designated hitter and teammate Chris Hoffman was the utility player.

The MIAA Tournament second round gets going today with games at 11 a.m., 2:30 p.m. and 6 p.m. from CommunityAmerica Ballpark in Kansas City, Kan.

Player of the Year: Dean Long, Sr., Emporia State
Pitcher of the Year: Cody Hutchinson, Jr., Missouri Southern
Freshman of the Year: Drew Quinones, Fr., Lindenwood
Coach of the Year: Bryce Darnell, Missouri Southern
First Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Cody Hutchinson, Jr., Missouri Southern
Pitcher: Payton Walker, Jr., Missouri Southern
Pitcher: Ryan Helsley, So., Northeastern State
Relief Pitcher: Shawn Talkington, Sr., Emporia State
Catcher: Max Ayoub, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
First Base: Evan Koehler, Jr., Emporia State
Second Base: Charles Sims, Jr., Northeastern State
Shortstop: Ross Wolfe, Sr., Southwest Baptist 
Third Base: Dean Long, Sr., Emporia State^
Outfield: Justin Harris, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Anthony Pacheco, Jr., Nebraska-Kearney#
Outfield: Trevor Jones, Sr., Central Missouri
Designated Hitter: Jesse Rall, Jr., Missouri Southern
Utility: Chris Hoffman, Jr., Missouri Southern
Second Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Travis Hendry, Sr., Emporia State
Pitcher: Daulton Leiker, Jr., Central Oklahoma
Pitcher: Banks Born, Sr., Missouri Western
Relief Pitcher: Jake Kern, Jr., Northeastern State
Catcher: Nate Arnold, Sr., Pittsburg State
First Base: Cooper Langley, Sr., Fort Hays State
Second Base: Paul Johnson, Sr., Northwest Missouri
Shortstop: Nathan Prindle, Jr., Lindenwood
Third Base: Richie Gorski, So., Missouri Southern
Outfield: Ryan Degner, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Wade Rothermich, Sr., Lindenwood
Outfield: Drew Quinones, Fr., Lindenwood
Designated Hitter: Kevin Czarnecki, Sr., Fort Hays State
Utility: Danny Droll, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Third Team All-MIAA
Pitcher: Carlos D'Armas, Jr., Central Missouri
Pitcher: Aaron Smith, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Pitcher: Tyler Burgess, Sr., Missouri Southern
Relief Pitcher: Richard Peoples, So., Missouri Western
Catcher: David Gauntt, Sr., Washburn
First Base: Steven Garber, Sr., Northwest Missouri
Second Base: Levi Parker, Sr., Emporia State
Shortstop: Cody Childs, Sr., Missouri Western
Third Base: Kyle Carnahan, Jr., Washburn
Outfield: Andrew Kreiling, Sr., Pittsburg State
Outfield: Parker Gibson, Jr., Washburn
Outfield: Brandon Landanger, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Designated Hitter: Dillon Schroeder, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
Utility: Austin Unrein, Sr., Fort Hays State
Honorable Mention
Pitcher: Ricky Rivera, Central Missouri; Tyler House, Central Missouri; Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Brendan Kleekamp, Lindenwood; A.J. Martinez, Missouri Western; Anthony Caenepeel, Northwest Missouri; Jake Stevenson, Pittsburg State; Mike Hefferan, Washburn,
Relief Pitcher: Nick Pettus, Missouri Southern; Carson Smith, Northwest Missouri; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State; Tanner Kilmer, Washburn.
Catcher: Andre Vieyra, Fort Hays State; Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Licio Tamburlini, Northeastern State.
First Base: Bennett Oliver, Central Missouri; Kaleb Davis, Lincoln; Cosimo Cannella, Missouri Western; Connor Messinger, Nebraska-Kearney; Preston Cash, Northeastern State; Andrew Vogelbaugh, Pittsburg State.
Second Base: Dusty Maas, Central Missouri; Gus Strunk, Fort Hays State; Jacob Bryant, Missouri Southern.
Shortstop: Jackson Schnurbusch, Central Missouri; Nick Gotta, Northwest Missouri; Erek Hackney, Pittsburg State; Riley Krane, Washburn.
Third Base: Tony Sandifer, Central Missouri; Ryan Light, Lindenwood; David Glaude, Missouri Western; Spencer Blacksher, Southwest Baptist.
Outfield: Derek Cornell, Central Missouri; Tyler Hatcher, Central Oklahoma; Dylan Tinkler, Central Oklahoma; Price Jacobs, Emporia State; Wade Hanna, Emporia State; Connor Ross, Fort Hays State; Wes Degener, Lindenwood; Trevor LaHonta, Missouri Western; Gabriel Wurth, Northeastern State; Luke Bordewick, Pittsburg State; Zach Snodgrass, Southwest Baptist; Connor Crimmons, Washburn.
Designated Hitter: Isaac Hellbush, Central Oklahoma; Tanner Triggs, Washburn.

Utility: Trevor Schnieders, Lincoln; Orencio Fisher, Missouri Western; Bryce Davenport, Northeastern State; Christian Binger, Southwest Baptist. 
  • Current Conditions

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.