Jeronimus and Terry Named Ken B. Jones Award Finalists - KOAM TV 7

Jeronimus and Terry Named Ken B. Jones Award Finalists

___PittsburgStateGorillasLOGOPSU ___PittsburgStateGorillasLOGOPSU
Press Release PSU:

Pittsburg State student-athletes Lizzy Jeronimus and Keeston Terry have been named finalists for the 22nd Annual Ken B. Jones Award for the MIAA's female and male student-athlete of the year. 

Jeronimus is a 5-11 senior guard/forward for the Gorilla basketball team from Lenexa, Kan. She is a four-time All-American on the court and earned Acadeimc Captial One All-America honors this season. She set the PSU single season scoring record this season with 626 points, as well as breaking the Pitt State career records for points, rebounds, free throws made and free throws attempted. Her 2,226 career points rank second all-time in the MIAA. She holds a 3.785 GPA as a management major. Jeronimus was the 2014 Ken B. Jones Award winner.

Terry is a 6-3 safety on the Pitt State football team from Blue Springs, Mo. He earned third-team All-America honors rhis season as the helped the Gorillas to a share of the MIAA title. He earned Captial One Academic All-District honors as both a junior and a senior and is a three-time All-MIAA Scholar-Athlete. Terry earned first-team All-MIAA honors in each of his last two se asons. He finished his career with 168 tackles, including 83 solo tackles. He is currently pursuing a career in the NFL.

The remaining four finalists are Cole Manhart, a football player from Nebraska-Kearney, Chris Watson, a wrestler from Central Oklahoma, Kate Lehman, a women's basketball player form Fort Hays State, and Heavin Warner, a field athlete from Central Missouri. The three males and females were selected from a field of 18 and will be invited to Kansas City for the MIAAAwards Ceremony which will be held June 3 at the Kansas City Public Library-Plaza Branch. At the event one male and one female will be announced as the winners of the Ken B. Jones Award.

A 15-member panel of athletics directors, senior woman administrators, faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors - including a representative from each member institution - select the finalists.

Each nominee is judged in four areas: 2014-15 athletic accomplishments; career academic accomplishments; 2014-15 campus/community service; and career athletic and service achievements.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average as of February 1, and must have completed at least their junior season of eligibility in the 2014-15 academic year.
Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.