Premier Baseball Junior Championships Return to the Four States - KOAM TV 7

Premier Baseball Junior Championships Return to the Four States


JOPLIN, Mo. — The South Texas Sliders, directed by head coach Scott Mayer, earned the 2014 Premier Baseball Junior Championship with a 4-3 victory over Chicago Elite in eight innings.

Scott Mayer and the South Texas Sliders are back again in 2015, but the its not the same roster from last year as the Premier Baseball Junior Championship begins play Wednesday and continues through Sunday in Joplin and six surrounding communities.

The tournament field includes 60 teams, will feature 193 games over five days utilizing 12 ballparks in three states.

This year marks the 11th year Premier Baseball has conducted a tournament in Joplin starting in 2005 with the Premier Baseball Senior Championship. The Incoming Freshman and Junior Championship have been held in Joplin in past years.

The 12 host stadiums include Crowder College in Neosho, Seneca High School Baseball Field, Homa Thomas Field, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M Baseball Field in Miami, Joe Pollock Stadium in downtown Miami, Mickey Mantle Field in Commerce, the Field of Dreams in Baxter Springs, Jaycee Ballpark and Al Ortolani Field in Pittsburg, the new Joplin High School Baseball Stadium, the new Warren Turner Field at Missouri Southern, Wendell Redden Stadium at the Joplin Athletic Complex and the renovated Joe Becker Stadium in Joplin.

Games will begin Wednesday at 9:30 a.m. at all 12 locations and will continue with four games each day through 5 p.m. on Wednesday and Thursday. There will be a fifth game, a featured game, played Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. at Joe Becker Stadium and Warren Turner Field.

The first two days consist of pool play. Friday and Saturday’s games will feature the field seeded 1-32 and 33-60 for a championship pool and a consolation pool. Championship bracket quarterfinals are scheduled for Saturday at 7:30 p.m. at four locations. Sunday’s games include championship and consolation bracket semifinals. The championship semifinals and championship game will be played at Joe Becker Stadium. Warren Turner Field and Joplin High School will host consolation semifinals and championship games.

A complete tournament schedule is posted online at www.premierbaseball.net

Additional notes about the 2015 tournament:

n 60 teams are participating from 13 states including 29 from Texas, 13 from Missouri, four from Indiana, two each from Arkansas, Colorado, New York and Wisconsin, one each from Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio and Washington.

n For a third year, games will be scored at each ballpark on iPads with the Pointstreak program. Games will be available for live updates online at www.premierball.net. Premier Baseball also has a Facebook page, search for "Baseball Premier" and scores will be posted on Twitter, follow the tournament @baseballpremier. Also, be sure to like the Joplin Sports Authority Facebook page. JSA will be posting updates about Premier Baseball and other events on Facebook as well.

n Pointstreak being used as the official scoring and statistic software of Premier Baseball replacing Gamechanger.

For more information about the Premier Baseball Junior World Series, contact Craig Hull at (417) 625-1006, log onto Facebook and ‘like’ the Joplin Sports Authority on Facebook and follow @JoplinSports on Twitter.

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.