MSSU Men's Track and Field Wins 2016 MIAA Outdoor Track Title - KOAM TV 7

MSSU Men's Track and Field Wins 2016 MIAA Outdoor Track Title

Maryville, MO -

 The Missouri Southern men's track and field team won the 2016 MIAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships today while freshman Vincent Kiprop was named the men's High Point Winner as the Championships were completed on the campus of Northwest Missouri State University. 

The Lions had 16 All-MIAA performances in total at the Championships and six event winners as they scored 145 points and won the meet by 11 points over second-place Pittsburg State. Lincoln was third, followed by Central Missouri, Northwest Missouri, Nebraska-Kearney, Lindenwood, Emporia State, Southwest Baptist and Fort Hays State. 

It is the first outdoor MIAA Team Championship in MSSU history. 

Kiprop was named the MIAA High Point Winner and is the fourth Lion in a row to win the honor. Jeff Fraley won both the indoor and outdoor award in 2015, while Jayce Thomaspicked up the indoor honor this year. Kiprop won the 5k, the 10k and the 3k steeple to pick up 30 points in the process. 

After winning the 10k yesterday, Kiprop raced to a win in the steeple to start his day, winning the event in a time of 9:17.12. Nathan Henry was sixth in the event to pick up points for the Lions, while Janzen White placed 15th. Kiprop finished off his day with a win in the 5k, cruising to a time of 14:56.38. Henry was 15th in the event, while Luke Johnsonplaced 22nd. 

Tyler Hovey placed sixth in the shot put to start the field events on Sunday as the senior threw a distance of 51-03.75. The Lions picked up big points in the triple jump as Kennan Harrison won the event with a distance of 49-00.25 and Thomas was third with a distance of 48-06.75. Both earned All-MIAA honors in the event. Daniel Hernandez won the javelin and earned All-MIAA honors with a toss of 213-10. 

The running events started off with the 4x100m relay team of Warren Leak, Fraley, Keson Payton and Thomas Hawkins placing second for All-MIAA honors in a time of 40.97. 

Johnson was 20th in the 1,500m, before Fraley started his dominant run in the sprints. The senior placed second in both the 100m and the 400m, before winning the 200m dash in a time of 20.95. Fraley finishes his career as the undefeated 200m champion at the MIAA Championships, winning every indoor and outdoor championship over his four-year career. 

Sam Kohrs earned All-MIAA honors with a third-place showing in the 800m, turning in a time of 1:54.31, nearly missing out on a championship as just .29 separated first from third place. 

The last event of the night put the mile relay on display and the team of Hawkins, Brandon Callicutt, Kohrs and Peyton Powell placed fifth, turning in a time of 3:16.31. 

The Lions will be back in action on May 13, playing host to the MSSU Last Chance Twilight at Fred G. Hughes Stadium. 

2016 All-MIAA
Vincent Kiprop - 5k (Champion), 10k (Champion) 3k Steeple (Champion) MIAA High Point Winner
Jeff Fraley - 200m (Champion), 100m, 400m
Jayce Thomas - High Jump, Triple Jump
Daniel Hernandez - Javelin (Champion)
Kennan Harrison - Triple Jump (Champion)
4x100m Relay (Warren Leak, Jeff Fraley, Keson Payton, Thomas Hawkins)
Sam Kohrs - 800m
Morgan Hold - Pole Vault

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by Frankly, Inc. All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.