NEO Equestrian Claims Regional Title - KOAM TV 7

NEO Equestrian Claims Regional Title


The Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) Equestrian Team was named the Regional Champion after competing in Springfield Missouri over the weekend. Following the success of the NEO A&M Intercollegiate Horse Show the weekend before, NEO added to their overall point total by earning High-Point Team at Saturday’s show, which closed out the regular season. The regional competition took place on Sunday and fifteen NEO riders competed.

Brittany Abernathy was named the Open High-Point Rider on Saturday after she finished first in Horsemanship and first in Reining. Abernathy was also named High-Point Regional Champion and has earned an entry at the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) National Competition in Lexington, Ky. The team also enjoyed several other first place finishes during Saturday’s competition including Kyle Smith, who earned first in the Beginner class, Becca Garrett, who earned first in the Intermediate II class, and Alex Spratt, who earned first in the Advanced class. Six riders will now advance to the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association Semi-Finals held at West Texas A&M University on March 24 and 26: Beginner-Katie Daniels, Intermediate-Becca Garrett, Novice-Alex Spratt, Advanced-Edson Varela, Open Horsemanship-Krista Rodney, and Open Reining- Brittany Abernathy.

“I am very excited for the success we had in the last few shows,” said Amanda Burrows, equestrian head coach. “I want to thank everyone for all of their incredible support throughout our season!”




Brittany Abernathy

First - Kyle Smith

Fourth - Toni Morgan
Sixth - Sam Clayton

First - Becca Garrett

Second - Lyndsey Harvey

Third - Cole Enloe

Fourth - Cheyenne Lindsey

Fifth - Kristan Hamilton

Second - Emily Haak

Third - Karli Jones

Fourth - Sydney Schafter

Fifth - J.T. Morris
Seventh - Meredith Taylor

First - Alex Spratt

Second - Andrea Althoff

First - Brittany Abernathy

Second - Ashley Aden

Third - Taylor Carpenter

Third - Krista Rodney

Fourth - Trish Meyer

Sixth - Mattie Lemmons

First - Brittany Abernathy

Third - Krista Rodney 

Powered by Frankly

KOAM - Licensed to Pittsburg, Kansas
Send tips, ideas and press releases to: tips@koamtv.com
Send newsroom questions or comments to: comments@koamtv.com
Phone: (417) 624-0233 or (620) 231-0400
Web comments or questions: webmaster@koamtv.com
Newsroom Fax: (417) 624-3158

Powered by WorldNow All content © Copyright 2000 - 2017 KOAM. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.